Spring 2016

Faculty Advisor

Patricia Goldsworthy-Bishop


On September 15, 1935 the Nazi party announced a new series of laws codes that legally cemented the principles of Nazi ideology: The Nuremberg Laws. The Nuremberg Laws were composed of three parts. One, the “Reich Citizenship Law” revoked the status of Jews as legal citizens and created the framework the Nazis would use to persecute by defining what it meant to be German or Jewish; later the laws were expanded by the Nazis to label minorities as non-German citizens. The “Laws of the Protection of Hereditary Health” stated that anyone the Nazis deemed as carrying inheritable diseases would be forced to undergo sterilization. The “Law for the Protection of German Blood and German Honor” outlawed marriage between Germans and Jews. These laws established a foundation for a eugenics program that the Nazi doctors performed on inmates in T-4 centers and later in concentration camps from 1939 to 1945.

Document Type


PDF_A The Nuremberg Laws_ Creating the Road to the T-4 Program.pdf (650 kB)
PDF/A Version